Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

A Day at the Beach Book Review


This book wasn't exactly what I was looking for when it comes to a devotional. It felt shallow, and left me feeling empty, longing for a deeper conception to God and myself.

I'd have to say, the best thing about this book is the cover and it's size. The soft leather feel to the cover, makes it wonderful to hold. It is the perfect size to carry in you pocket or put in your purse. I liked the orange cover.... the perfect color to go with the blue of the ocean.... yes, the cover was the greatest thing about this book to me.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Tyndale, book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Tuesdays With Morrie - What a Great Book!

"The last class of my old professor's life took place once a week in his house, by a window in the study where he could watch a small hibiscus plant shed its pink leaves.  The class met on Tuesdays. It began after breakfast. The subject was The Meaning of Life. It was taught from experience. 
No grades were given, but there were oral exams each week. You were expected to respond to questions, and you were expected to pose questions of your own. You were also required to perform physical tasks now and then, such as lifting the professor's head to a comfortable spot on the pillow or placing his glasses on the bridge of his nose. Kissing him good-bye earned you extra credit. 
No books were required, yet many topics were covered, including love, work, community, family, aging, forgiveness, and, finally, death. The last lecture was brief, only a few words. 
A funeral was held in lieu of graduation. 
Although no final exam was given, you were expected to produce one long paper on what was learned. That paper is presented here. 
The last class of my old professor's life had only one student.
I was the student."
- reading that had me hooked. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I too, wonder why we as people seem to confuse what is important in life. 

Morrie reminded me of my Grandpa Stump, always interested in people and having a smile on his face. 

My Grandpa lived out the last few months of his life at my parents house, where he was surrounded by people he loved. I was privileged to give him his lunch the day before he died and to sit on the porch swing with him, listening to the sounds of nature....

I cherish every memory that I have of my Grandpa!

Here is my Grandpa Stump with my kids Dec. 2013

I think everyone could benefit from reading Tuesdays with Morrie and taking time to contemplate the bigger picture of life. This book will be added to my bookshelf.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books, book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Lord, Have Mercy Book Review

This book had my attention the minute I flipped it over and read the back cover...
"Just when you think you’ve got this wife and motherhood thing down . . .Your toddler expresses his inner Picasso on your freshly painted walls . . . In permanent marker. Your 14-year-old demonstrates her newly acquired modeling skills . . . via every social network known to man. Your husband pulls up in a new car that you can’t afford . . . and only has two seats. Lord, have mercy. What are they thinking?"
...... story of my life!!! Well, not quite, instead of a toddler I have a 7 yr. old daughter and "mess" is her middle name! And my teenager is almost sixteen - but other than that.... it's pretty much right on! .....and my hubby loves pulling in the drive with a mustang.... at one time we had 3 of them, all at the same time. Right now he's talking about a new truck, or RZR for him and the kids, so one or the other will probably be pulling in the drive any day now!!

When this book came In the mail! I was in love with it! The front and back cover is pretty much my life.... right down to the teen selfies, on social media, the boy plays on a tablet or looking at ATV magazines, the youngest is always noisy.... thankfully we are out of the baby stage, but she is a loud little girl and then me.... most days I feel like burying my head, giving this whole mom thing up and trying again another day!!!

I love the cover of this book so much, I recreated it, with my family.... 
picture coming soon.....

I have to say though, upon reading the book, I was a really somewhat disappointed. I was expecting it to be written from a mom still in the thick of raising young kids, not from someone with kids already grown. While the book did have good points, I felt a disconnect with the author.... so for all the emotion that I feel when I look at the cover, I'm gonna cherish my recreated family portrait and pass the book on to someone who can get more use out of it then me....

This book, just wasn't what I expected.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Seven Money Types and What Type I Am

I am a sucker for quiz books and figuring out your 'type' whatever type that my be.... I love trying to discover who people are, and what makes them do the things they do, or act a certain way....


The Seven Money Types is not a book on how to manage money. Rather, it is a unique approach to understanding how you relate to handling money. This book gives a different perspective on money than any I have ever read. I found it fascinating. It uses Scripture as a baseline and the author does a good job of giving real life examples to back up his theories. This book will change your approach to money, helping you understand other people's interactions with money and your own!

What money type are you?

I am a Jacob.... My belief is that money should be used to create pleasurable experience (can anyone say travel?? I love to travel and explore the world, creating memories with my family!) I use money to create beautiful moments and buy beautiful things.... spending money to decorate my home, or buying fresh flowers for my table every week is important to me and worth every penny..... however, I may need to become more intentional about using my money for others....

My daughter, is an Aaron... She believes money should be used to serve others. She is concerned for injustices and spends money to remedy them. She has a lack of planning and attention to finances.

My hubby, is a good mix of both Isaac and Moses. He believes that money should not be wasted, but rather maximized. He makes the most of every dollar and loves financial order, budgets, and a good plan. Sometimes, he needs to lighten up, plan to splurge, and create space between himself and finances.

I am amazed how 'type' books and quizzes often coincide with each other... for example, I'm a Dressing Your Truth Type 3, who loves adventure and experiences, my daughter is a Type 2, who worries about others, always wanting to make them feel better. Hubby is a Type 4 who is orderly and a planner, not getting excited or rushing into things.... our types suit us perfectly, no mater if it's Dressing Your Truth, The Happiness Style, The Personality Test or the Money Type....

If you want to take the quiz to find your money type, click here.

To comply with regulations by the FTC, BookLookBloggers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

The Best Online High School

"When it comes to education - there is no school like home!"

We home school our kids.... 

In the past, we have used public school for kindergarten and have tried a couple christian schools, but in the end, it just works better for our family at this point in our life to home school. 

Over the years, I have had experience using just about every curriculum out there.... Abeka, CLE, Pathway, ACE, Rod and Staff, and more, but I have found the best curriculum to be the one that is put together individually for each child.

For the two youngest, we are currently using My Fathers World and love it! I'll try to do a post on that sometime!

For high school, our oldest daughter is graduating this year with a Diploma from Penn Foster High School. 


I graduated from Penn Foster back when it was a mail correspondence course and was known as ICS Newport Pacific High School/Harcourt High School.

Some of the reasons that we love Penn Foster High School are as follows:
Self-Paced - Get your high school diploma online, at a pace that's right for you. There are no study schedules at Penn Foster. Penn Foster's goal-setting and progress-tracking tools can help you stay organized and on track, select the study plan that works best for you, track your progress, and set alerts for when your exams are due.
Quality Education on Your Terms - When you enroll at Penn Foster, you can be confident that you're going to gain career-focused knowledge and skills. And, you could start learning online right away! With their open enrollment policy, you can enroll anytime, from anywhere, and begin your lessons within minutes after your enrollment has been processed.
Accredited - Receive quality, licensed and accredited education online. Penn Foster Career School and High School have earned both regional and national accreditation. Penn Foster College has earned national accreditation. 
Affordable - Choose from flexible payment options to fit any budget. We paid in full and received a discount off our bill.
Coached and Supported Learning - Get motivation and academic support from Success Coaches and expert faculty. As a Penn Foster student, you have access to instructors with real-world experience, digital learning aides, career services, and more. If you have any questions about the material, you can contact one of the instructors by phone or email at any time.
Mobile - Learn anytime, anywhere with our mobile-friendly, designed for learning on the go.
Personalized - Build your pathway to college or career in fields like health care, plumbing and more.
Founded in 1890, Penn Foster was one of the first pioneers of distance learning. With more than 30,000 graduates each year across the United States, Penn Foster’s online and blended learning programs are self-paced and personalized. Penn Foster works to empower youth and adult learners to achieve their academic goals so they may unlock their career potential, and ultimately better position themselves for success.

Based on recent survey data, 99% of Penn Foster graduates were satisfied with their program, 97% achieved their goals, and 98% would recommend their program to a friend. 

If you are interested in becoming a Penn Foster Graduate - Please Click Here.

Monday, March 27, 2017

NIV Investigators Holy Bible Book Review



NIV Investigator's Holy Bible
by: Zondervan
5 Stars


If you're looking for an NIV bible that is easy to understand and keeps kids interested... this is the one to get

Have you ever used a magnifying glass? It makes everything bigger and easier to see, right? Detectives and scientists magnify things to understand them better. Well that’s just what this Bible does—it’s a magnifying glass to help children understand the Word of God better.

The Bible is a gift from God, but many of the things written in the Bible are hard for kids to understand. In fact, sometimes they’re downright mysterious to kids. Using kid-friendly language and a detective theme, the two color NIV Investigator’s Holy Bible explains the Bible text for kids ages 6–10. 

Two central mystery-solving characters invite children to investigate the Bible using the following features:
  • Evidence—Bible book introductions answer what kind of book it is, who wrote it, what happens, and the “best part”
  • Breakthrough—answers questions kids might ask, such as “Who were the Philistines?” and “What is The Spirit of God?”  
  • Scene—includes descriptions highlighting geographical information pertinent to a verse 
  • Witness—explains the meaning and history behind Biblical names Detective—quizzes students on what they have learned  
  • Case Closed—explores how the events of a particular book of the Bible relate to children as individuals.

 I loved the illustrations and the concept of this bible. I loved the questions it asked. I thought this book/bible was put together perfectly for middle aged kids!

For me personally, I'd love to see the same exact thing in the KJV.... if they had that, I'd buy one for each of my kids pronto! 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through BookLookBloggers, book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Talking With God Book Review


Talking With God
By: Adam Weber
5 Stars

I love, love, love this book!!! The style of writing, the simple truths, the practical lessons, the humor, the realness. It's a great book!

Prayer seems like it should be so simple. Yet, when it comes to actually praying, often it feels awkward and complicated. I mean... what should you actually pray about? What do you say? Is there anything I should or shouldn’t say? Do you have to speak out loud?

Then comes the craziness which is life. Between work, changing diapers, walking the dog, unread emails, trying to keep up with our neighbors... and the laundry, who has time to pray?

The truth is, prayer is simple. It’s like talking. Talking with a good friend. And the best part? Our God can’t wait to talk with us.

I have always loved South Dakota... the Badlands are one of my most favorite places, and we've also been to Sioux Falls, Falls Park and the Corn Palace in Mitchell.... if I'm ever in South Dakota again, I'd love to visit Embrace Church and meet Pastor Adam Weber in real life.... 

This book will definitely be added to my book shelf.

You can purchase the book here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Bloggingforbooks, book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Kids Book Reviews

 I have three kids. There is a 9 year age difference between the oldest and youngest. Most of the kids books have been passed down over the years, and many have been torn, colored in, or dog-eared, pages ripped, etc. Some of them were getting so rough, it was time to toss them, so I am trying to find my six year old, books to add to her collection. Here are two of the latest kids books I received to review.


Same Kind of A Different Me
–by Ron Hall & Denver Moore

This book wasn’t near as good as I thought it would be. I liked that it had some depth to the wording, so it is better suited for grade school kids. Although the story line was good, the illustrations were lacking and seemed more for toddlers. The story seemed to be missing a link, tying it all together.

 I do love the saying on the last page, “Nobody can help everybody, but everybody can help somebody,” and I definitely want to instill that into my kids’ minds, but, overall, this book didn't do that phrase justice. It’s one of those books that is not horrible, but, just not great, either.



The Beautiful Garden of Eden:
“A Faith That God Built” series 
–by Gary Bowen 

If your kids like the classic 'The House That Jack Built', they will love the whimsical style of this book!  I myself, loved this book and think that it is a fun and entertaining style. I also love that it’s teaching kids Bible stories in a simple, fun way! I think these books could be a good addition to your young child’s library or your home school book collection!
However, my youngest child is six, and she wasn’t very impressed: she kept saying, “They already said that!” -like she couldn't understand why the book kept repeating the phrases.... 

Please share your book recommendations for six (almost seven) year-olds in the comments!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received these books free from the publisher through BookLookBloggers and Tyndale Blog Network, book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Sunday, January 15, 2017

The Lord's Prayer Book Review


THE LORD'S PRAYER
by: Rick Warren
3 Stars

I loved the front cover of this book. I also like the fact that the author takes the time to explain what the Lords prayer means so that kids can understand it. I think too often people are to quick to disregard the KJV because they simply do not understand it.

This book will encourage your kids to not only learn this portion of Scripture but to also apply it in all situations. My 6 yr. old was excited to add this book to her collection.

This book is a great resource to add to your home school library.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through BookLookBloggers, book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Enjoy Book Review


Enjoy: Finding the Freedom to Delight Daily in God's Good Gifts 
by: Trillia Newbell
2 Stars

I enjoy reading books and am privileged to review books for Tyndale, Book Look Bloggers and Blogging For Books. I have found some really great and interesting books to add to my bookshelf. Some of them, I will read over and over again... they're just that good! But sometimes, I get a book to review and honestly - it's just not for me..... and that's how I felt about this book

There's really not one certain thing that I didn't like, but it just didn't do anything for me. I guess you could say I was kinda board... it didn't hold my attention, and not to be conceded, but I pretty much already know everything the author talked about in the book.

This is one of the books that will be donated, and hopefully someone, somewhere, sometime, will pick it up and find it useful to them.



*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books, book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Thursday, December 29, 2016

The Best of 2016

This year there were 48 blog posts at SRKindredSpirits....  There were a lot of different topics.... Things to say on a job interview, Recipes, Visiting Louisville KY, Getting rid of cookbook clutter, Book reviews, Bookcase redo, Why I don't sell, Making an orb, Crochet Christmas tree skirt, Understanding a INTJ, Adoption, DYT experiment, My first speeding ticket, What Instagram really tells you, How to review a product company, Family quality time, A free health quiz, and much more.

Here's the top 10 posts of 2016:

We had our first giveaway here on SRKindredSpirits and it was a success! The Happiness Dare is a highly recommended book!


Once you try these, you'll be hooked! Easy and yummy... you can't go wrong with these cream cheese roll ups!


I wrote this post after reading the definition of the word 'family', it will give you a little insight to my life.


Getting rid of the swimming pool was personal favorite and the relief we felt after the pool was gone was major! You have to click through and read the attached article.... it makes for a great laugh!


I think everyone could use a bit of a slow down in this thing we call life. Have you ever stopped and thought about all the errands you run or the many places you go?


Something so simple, but yet, so often, people don't take the time to do these ten simple things. It does make a difference!


Isn't it funny how most people always want more? From those of us who have been blessed with more.... all it takes to make you happy is enough!


What things are you great at? I really lay my heart out there on this post....


A fan favorite. This post has gotten the most talked about over on Facebook!


And lastly.... this post was the most popular all the way around. How qualified am I really?



What are some things you'd like to see on this blog in the next year? Leave a comment and let me know!

Thanks for visiting us here at SRKindredSpirits... please share our blog with friends and follow us on Facebook and Instagram for updated posts. 

Happy New Year! 
Here's to a great 2017!


Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Unlock Your Dream Book Review


The back cover of this book states:

"We all dream. The capacity for dreaming and pursuing those dreams is a gift given to every individual. But many people cannot even begin to describe their dreams, much less figure out how to bring them to fruition in the face of frustrating obstacles, distractions, and setbacks."

"In Unlock Your Dream Philip Wagner will inspire you to engage in life’s greatest quest: discovering and reaching God’s purpose and dreams for your life. You’ll be empowered, equipped, and freed to give life to your dreams and to live with joy and expectation for an adventurous future."

In complete honesty, I never finished reading this book. It wasn't all bad... Chapter 3 actually had some really good stuff.... such as trusting God and realizing that as we mature, dreams may need to be renovated, edited, and refined. Dreams change.

I especially liked the following quote:

"God never asks us to give up something that is greater than His dream for us!"

However, after Chapter 5, I lost interest. For over a month, I took the book with me, moving it from my nightstand, to the sofa table, picking it up, and sitting it down. That happens sometimes.....

I'm not saying it is a bad book, it just wasn't good for me. I'll add it to the book shelf and see if it will catch hubby's interest....

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books, book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Saturday, December 3, 2016

Read and Share Look, I'm Reading! Bible Storybook Review



The day this book came, I sat down with my 6 yr. old daughter Adilayia, to read this book together. She enjoyed it. By replacing key words with graphics, the child can fill in the story by looking at the picture which represents the missing word. I used to love these books when I was a kid! 

Some of the short stories are: Beginning, Flood, Abraham’s Family, Moses, the Promised Land, Ruth and Naomi, David, God’s People Made Slaves, Esther, and Jonah in the Old Testament and Jesus is Born, John the Baptist, Jesus’s Life, Jesus’s Death and Resurrection, the Holy Spirit Comes, Saul Becomes Paul, Peter, and the Best is Yet to Come.

The cartoon like drawings are simple and fun- but some of the people images v.s words were kind of confusing to explain to a 6 yr old. but overall, I think this book is a great addition to our home school library for my son and daughter who are learning to read.

To comply with regulations by the FTC, Book Look Bloggers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

Monday, November 7, 2016

All The Pretty Little Things Book Review



All The Pretty Little Things
By: Edie Wadsworth
5 Stars

I read this complete book in one day! I was drawn to it like I haven't been drawn to a book in quite awhile, and so will you!

    Get ready to go on a journey.... one of sadness, drunkenness, broken relationships, fire, poverty, and abandonment. But also a journey of finding hope, love, grace, forgiveness, and wholeness.....

 To all those who feel fatherless, you have a Father God that loves you.... (and deep down your birth father probably loves you too -even if he really doesn't know how to show it.) You are worth a Father's love!


All the Pretty Little Things takes you on a journey of how one woman finds emotional healing.... Are you in need of emotional healing? Spiritual healing? What about physical healing? Our bodies were designed to work well with all three aspects. If one is lacking, you will suffer. (Take our FREE Healthprint Quiz to help find physical healing.... and to get tips and personal recommendations based on your answers.)

The story in this book is the same as many kids live in the world today. It is sad. But the hope that shines through brings so much gladness. Leave a comment and tell us one thing you are doing to reach out to the fatherless around you today.


You can purchase the book here.

To comply with regulations by the FTC, Tyndale Blog Network has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

Thursday, November 3, 2016

The Curated Closet Book Review


The Curated Closet
By: Anuschka Rees
3 Stars

I am a visual person when it comes to learning! So, while reading 'the curated closet', I loved the suggestion on creating a 'My Style' Pinterest Board. After looking at my style board, it helped me see a pattern.

I like above the knee length denim straight skirts, bodycon skirts, denim and leather jackets, brown boots, strappy sandals, cardigans, and chunky jewelry, to name a few. I am a Type 3/secondary Type 2 in Dressing Your Truth - so you'll find lots of Type 3 colors in my style board.

I think the most important thing to remember when building your curated closet is that you personalize it to you. Don't try to be someone else's style look alike!

Overall, I thought this book had a lot of good useful ideas, the only downside is that the photos were not vivid or engaging, and overall dull and boring - but that may just be my Type 3 personality showing!

I am not doing a closet overhaul right now as I am losing weight, so I will be keeping this book on my bookshelf to use in curating my own closet at a later date, as I get closer to my weight goal....

If you are interested in putting together your own perfect personal style - you would find this book to be a very useful tool. You can purchase the book here.

Visit my style board on Pinterest and let me know what pattern or trends stand out to you. I'd love your feedback!



To comply with regulations by the FTC, Blogging For Books Network has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Me: A Compendium Book Review



by: Wee Society 
4 Stars

I thought this book looked cute and was planning on using it for my youngest (age 6). But since my two youngest are in the same grade and do the same work, I thought my cute, curly haired, 4 yr. old, niece might like it..... 
And her Momma says she does! The only down is that it may be a little more suitable for a 6-7 yr. old that can read and write!

Me: A Compendium by Wee Society is a cute, cleverly made, hardback, fill-in journal for kids. The pages are big and bold and colorful. Kids are encouraged to let their imaginations run wild as they write or draw. The large, colorful pages allow for kids to explore who they are and who they want to be.

I loved all the questions that they ask such as: 
What's your favorite jokes?
What's your favorite clothes?
 If I were going to outer space, _____ is what I would pack. 
What I wish was inside my refrigerator.
 If I had a shop, it would be called ___ , and we would sell____. 
_____ is the number of jumping jacks I can do before I get tired.
 I am __ inches tall. 
____ is what time I go to bed.

 I think this book would be great as a home-school supplement for kids in Kindergarten through 2nd grade. You can purchase the book from Amazon here.

To comply with regulations by the FTC, Blogging For Books Network has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

The Happiness Dare Giveaway


I love this book and want you to love it too, so.... 
I'm giving away a copy - right here on my blog... keep reading to enter!

The last couple years, I have been choosing to have more joy in my life. We have gotten rid of clutter, figured out priorities, cut back on stress in our life, and paid off our home. Life is good, but you know what??? Joy and happiness are two different things -and my life could use a lot more holy happiness in it!

Get this.... God is a Happy God - and He wants us to be Happy!

A. W. Tozer said that the people of God "ought to be the happiest people in all the wide world!" I think too often as Christians, we put a limit on our happiness in God.
 In The Happiness Dare, Jennifer says "God gave us the created world - with sugar, bluebirds, audio books, words with friends, art museums, and sex. You have permission to enjoy food, friendships, and a cool swim on a hot summer day. the devil didn't make art, laughter, music, or Sunday afternoon naps. God did!"

I read lots of self-help books and I enjoy the challenge of "trying to figure me and other people out." I have learned a lot and am fond of the 4 Types in Dressing Your Truth (I'm a Type 3 by the way) and the personality profile in Personality Plus. So, finding my happiness style makes me happy! You see, I'm an Experiencer 1st and a Thinker 2nd. I love adventures and alone time!

For years, I have tired to fit in at extended family get-togethers. Social gatherings leave me exhausted. I have never liked getting or giving gifts for holidays. (I like the music, lights, hot chocolate and the smell of cinnamon!) I don't like making big deals out of birthdays..... In my business - I don't push sales, I let people come to me! The more I try to fit in and do those type of things, the worse I feel....! Turns out, that kind of stuff doesn't make me happy - it stresses me out! My happiness style is not a relater or giver.... (don't get me wrong, everyone can be a friend to someone and help someone out) but, to try to be somebody that you aren't is NOT going to make you happy! I think, I've always known this, but reading The Happiness Dare was so affirming for me.

 I love the happiness style quiz... I've taken it 3 times in one month (yes, I have a tendency to over think things)! My hubby and kids have also taken it.... my books pages are already wrinkled, words are underlined and have been read and reread!

 "The art of being happy lives in the power of extracting happiness from common things." -Henry Ward Beecher  - Flowers, sunsets, music, bubble baths, and alone time make me happy! I am actively finding my sweet spot - the place where earthly pleasures, heavenly joy, and my unique wiring all come together - that is my Happy Kingdom Come!

If you are in a hole of unhappiness, Jennifer teaches you that it only takes 5 min. a day to build a ladder, one rung at a time, to get out of the hole and become a happier you! If you are out of the hole of unhappiness, and your life is happy - maybe you need to jump in, and help someone climb out... Understanding someones happiness style can help you understand them better.

We become happier by changing the way we think- by finding happiness in our own life - by being "good enough' - by using our happiness (no matter how small amount it may be) as a powerful weapon - by being grateful!

"Gratitude is Happiness doubled by wonder." - G. K. Chesterton 

Enter this Giveaway and share it with your friends.... Take the happiness dare, find your happiness style, - then change the world!

You can buy a copy of The Happiness Dare here.

                                                          a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Only in USA. Giveaway ends 08-30-2016 at midnight EST. Healthprint challenge must be complete to count as points. Anyone who completes the Healthprint quiz will be added to a email list.

To comply with regulations by the FTC, Tyndale Blog Network has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

Sunday, August 14, 2016

Dressing Your Truth Experiment Fun With The Four Types




I sometimes talk with people who claim that anybody can wear anything and look good. I disagree.

Faith, my daughter and I decided to test that theory, by each dressing in all four types of the Dressing Your Truth Program. We used clothes, makeup, and accessories that we already had and really did try to dress as much as we could in each of the four type styles, even if we didn't like it. 
We both wore the same color of makeup for each of the types.

We started with Type 1:


Faith had a light aqua t-shirt, white shorts, a multi colored striped belt, a bright orange zipper bracelet and gold circle earrings.
(It was harder for me to find a Type 1 outfit, as I have been trying to clean out my closet since I started DYT and living with less). My shirt had multi color circles, which I pared with a white sweater and gold circle earrings.
We puffed our hair on top to give it an upward motion and we completed the look with blue eye shadow, light pink lip stain and a bright pink blush (which we hated so much, we tossed afterward!)

Faith said she felt most silly in the Type 1 outfit. I felt very fat! I think it shows our facial blemishes as being more red/pink and spotty.

Next was Type 2:

  

Faith wore dark grey leggins, an aqua striped shirt, and a grey scarf tied as a belt. She left her hair hang natural. 
I wore a grey shirt with a light grey wrap. I used the curling iron on my hair (something I used to do every day). Makeup was very minimal - grey eye shadow, and pink lip stain.

Faith wears outfits like this almost everyday, so is quite comfortable as a Type 2. I felt old, tired, and fat..... not really anything good at all in it for me.

Welcome to Type 3:


Faith wore a deep red shirt, an animal print cardigan, a gold necklace and big earrings. She pulled her hair into an edgy pony tail. (note: She had on a necklace the matched her earrings, but it was just too big and over powering her - she didn't like it and took it off before the picture.)
I wore an aqua/teal and brown animal print shirt with an aqua layering tee under it. I wore a wooden necklace and earrings (purchased at the DYT online Type 3 store). I scrunched up my hair like I usually do. Makeup was deep rose blush, chestnut lip stain, and plum and bronze eye shadow.

Faith really liked the way she looked as a type 3. But, although I think she can pull it off, I think it's a bit too much on her. I have come to love myself as a type 3. I feel comfortable, and put together. 

Last, but not least, we were ready for Type 4:

  

Faith wore black slacks with a black shirt and a black and silver shrug she got in Nashville IN. She pulled her hair straight back into a pony tail and wore sliver earrings.
I wore a black, white, and red zebra stripped shirt with a black shrug and black shorts. I combed my hair down (a very type 4 straight hairstyle). I wore a silver chain necklace, and bracelet and silver leaf dangle earrings (the only other ones I could find that was silver).

Faith still loves black (I think it might be a 'cool' teenager thing), but her make up looks like she's a performer - ready to go on stage. I hated everything about the type 4 style. The makeup felt extremely heavy. The hair was awful. I felt depressed. I think I now know what Gothic feels like! It just didn't work at all for me! It felt like I was trying too hard to be someone I'm not.

Overall, it was a really fun experiment that I got to share with my daughter - we had some good laughs! Follow this link to browse the DYT online store!


I really think Faith looks good in most of the styles (maybe that's because she's 15 and beautiful), but I think she's most living true to her nature as a Type 2!!!


For myself, I was raised dressing and told to act as a T2, spent my early 20's dressing as a T1, my late 20's - early 30's as a T4 with a T2 hairstyle...., have found myself the last few years in my mid 30's as a T3 .... and I think I've finally found my true nature! 

"Life's a trip - but it's better when you know your truth!" 
-Rhoda Kindred




Take your shape in a whole new direction with Shaklee!

Disclaimer

Please Note: Some posts may contain sponsor, affiliate, and/or referral links. If you click on the link and purchase the item, I may receive a commission. Your purchases through these links help to support this site and my family, so I humbly thank you!

Disclaimer: The information on this site is for educational purposes only. It is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice. None of the opinions are meant to diagnose or treat any disease or illness. You should always consult your healthcare provider.

Copyright: No pictures or any type of material from this blog is to be copied or used without consent from the blog owner.